SIG Logo

Culinary Indexing SIG

A Special Interest Group of the American Society for Indexing



Home | Indexers | Resources | Join | Contact | AtoZ Index

Resources for Culinary Indexers

Articles | Tools | Resources

Indexing Articles

"Indexing Recipe Titles" by Thérèse Shere. (PDF) Chapter from the ASI publication Indexing Specialties: Cookbooks (Nickerson, Leise, Hudoba, eds.; Medford, NJ: Information Today/American Society of Indexers, 2009) Beyond Book Indexing: A Review by Kathy Spaltro
Cookbook Indexing: Not as Easy as ABC by Rose Grant, ASI Newsletter, May/June 1990
Cookbook Reviews by Elizabeth Parson
The Culinary Guild of New England, Indexing—an entry by Elizabeth Parson
Culinary Indexers’ Reference Sources: Results of a 2014 Survey of Culinary Indexers by Catherine Sassen
An Encounter with Julia Child by Diane Worden, Key Words, May/June & July/August 1997
"Estimating the Size of an Index" excerpt from Indexing Books by Nancy Mulvany
"Exhaustivity of Indexes" excerpt by Bella Hass Weinberg
Handbook of Indexing Techniques excerpt by Linda Fetters
In Defense of Specialists by Rose Grant, Key Words, September/October 1997
Letters to The Indexer by Rose Grant and Lucy Pollard
Indexer! Indexer! by Willowdean Vance
Indexes in Classic Cookbooks: An Analysis of the Indexes in The Joy of Cooking, 1931-1997 by Catherine Sassen
Cookbook section of Indexing from A to Z by Hans Wellisch
A Piece of Cake? Cookbook Indexing--Basic Guidelines and Resources by Cynthia Bertelsen, Key Words, Jan/Feb 1999
Pinardises:
recipes and culinary remarks review IASC Bulletin, January-April 1995, Translated by Judy Hunt
Indexing chapter excerpt from Recipes into Type by Joan Whitman and Dolores Simon
Starting an Indexing Business and Marketing Your Indexing Services: A Review by Kathy Spaltro

Online Reference Sources for Culinary Indexing

Cafe Creosote Dictionary of Cooking Terms: searchable dictionary  www.cafecreosote.com
CooksInfo Encyclopedia www.cooksinfo.com
The Cook's Thesaurus: Substitutes and alternate ingredient names   www.foodsubs.com
Encyclopedia of Spices: theepicentre.com/spices
English-American recipe translator www.cs.cmu.edu/~mbishop/engfood.html
Food Lexicon www.foodlexicon.net
French-English Food Dictionary www.beyond.fr
Global Gourmet: Cooking measures and conversions calculator   www.globalgourmet.com
Glossary of Indian food & cooking terms www.cuisinecuisine.com
How to live gourmet culinary terms www.howtocookgourmet.com
International gourmet cooking terms and techniques www.international-gourmet.net
Library of Congress subject headings for cookbooks www.loc.gov
Linda's culinary dictionary whatscookingamerica.net
Recipe link: Huge collection of links/conversions/recipes  Kitchenlink.com
Spanish English bilingual food glossary www.lingolex.com

Specific Food and Ingredient Glossaries

Chocolate glossary: World Cocoa Foundation  www.worldcocoafoundation.org
Encyclopedia of Spices: theepicentre.com/spices
Glossary of Indian food & cooking terms www.cuisinecuisine.com
Spice Pages, Gernot Katzer's: Site has several indexes  gernot-katzers-spice-pages.com/engl/index.html
Tea FAQ from Rec.food.drink.tea pages.ripco.net/~c4ha2na9/tea/faq.html
Whisky glossary www.dcs.ed.ac.uk/home/jhb/whisky/glossary.html

Indexing Listservs

Culinary SIG Group on Yahoo Groups  
Index-L archives  
Indexers Discussion List on Yahoo Groups

Professional Indexing Associations

American Society for Indexing (ASI)  www.asindexing.org
Association of Southern African Indexers and Bibliographers (ASAIB)  www.asaib.org.za
Australian and New Zealand Society of Indexers (ANZSI)  www.anzsi.org
China Society of Indexers (CSI) www.cnindex.fudan.edu.cn
Indexing Society of Canada (IASC/SCAD) www.indexers.ca
Society of Indexers (SI) United Kingdom  www.indexers.org.uk

Indexing Special Interest Groups 

This list contains only SIGs that have a Web site. For information on other SIGs, please see ASI SIGs.

Business  www.businessindexing.org
Gardening and Environmental Studies  www.bioindexing.org
History/Archaeology  www.historyindexers.org
Legal www.legalindexing.org
Politics/International Relations  www.wave.net/upg/pisig/index.htm
Science/Medicine  www.scimedindexers.org
Society for Technical Communication Indexing SIG  www.stcsig.org/idx/index.html
Sports-Fitness  www.sports-fitnessindexing.org
Taxonmomies & Controlled Vocabularies www.taxonomies-sig.org
Web and Electronic Indexing  www.web-indexing.org 

Professional Culinary Associations

International Association of Culinary Professionals  www.iacp.com
Guild of Food Writers  www.gfw.co.uk
James Beard Foundation  www.jamesbeard.org
Web Food Pros  webfoodpros.com
Oldways Preservation & Exchange Trust  www.oldwayspt.org
Chowhound  chow.com

Publishers and Writers' Helpers

Bookwire by Bowker www.bookwire.com
Literary Marketplace www.literarymarketplace.com
National Writers Union www.nwu.org
Publishers Weekly www.publishersweekly.com
Writing-World: Links to writers resources, dictionaries, and content from Inkspot) www.writing-world.com

Additional Links

BBC food bbc.co.uk/food
Cooking.com www.cooking.com

Eat Your Books online cookbook index/search engine eatyourbooks.com
Epicurious: Recipes, articles, and food guides epicurious.com
Food Network foodnetwork.com
The Hunger Site: Donate food for free thehungersite.com
Slow Food: The antidote to fast food slowfood.com